Birch Wood Log Candle Holders

Standard

DSC06182This project requires the use of a table/circular/chain saw! So grab your safety goggles  and let’s get started! I grabbed these birch logs (about 4 inches in diameter) from my parents fire wood pile. We recently cut some limbs off the tree in our front yard. Using my table saw, I cut these limbs down to three different sizes, so they would appear staggered like this when clustered in a group. Make sure that you are making cuts perpendicular to the log so they will sit evenly on a surface. Once you have your logs cut to the sizes you like, find a drill with a drill bit about the same diameter of these tea light candles. I did not have a drill bit that large, so I just drilled multiple holes until it hollowed out a circle. You will want to drill down far enough so the tea lights sit flush with the top of the log. Be cautious when drilling, as friction + wood = fire. Yay science! I did not drill down quite far enough in my attempt, and as you can see the candles stick out a bit. I was in a hurry, okay!?

Once these are complete, light your tea lights and bask in the calming glow…. as with any burning objects.. please do not leave these unattended and keep out of the reach of children. Woohoo for safety! Happy crafting!

Leave a Reply

