Bullet Shell Wall Hanging

Standard

1653894_10202638503392376_2031364222040844541_nSo this project was completely free to make, except for some minimal hardware costs! I collected some old wood pallets from my neighborhood (found by local and commercial businesses), and I went to my local shooting range and asked if I could sweep up some of their bullet shells. To complete this project, you will also need a drill, some wood glue, and a circular saw. I used the circular saw to cut apart the wood pallets, but you can go about it the old fashioned way with a crowbar and hammer as well. I staggered the boards horizontally so they’d be a little more visually appealing. I screwed in two metal strips across the back of the boards on both the left and right sides to hold them in place (using 1/4-3/8 inch screws since the boards are about 3/4 inch in width). Next I laid out the screws in the desired design, and one by one I drilled holes the same diameter as the bullets into the board. I only drilled down about half way into the boards, enough to hold the shells in place. Once all the holes are drilled, drop the casings into their respective holes, and secure each one with a little wood glue. I’m sure hot glue would also work, as long as you work quickly to get the bullets into the hole. Once dried, I added some picture frame wire to the back, and hung it up on the wall. This project was a little more time intensive than most that I do, but it is a pretty awesome gift for any men in your life. You could also arrange the shells in sports team logos or initials.

Leave a Reply

